Link

5 Guys from Early Christian History You Should Get to Know

5 Guys from Early Christian History You Should Get to Know

An article I submitted for the TheOrant blog, part of the Patheos network. My friend Billy Kangas was gracious enough to let me submit. It’s an honor to be able to write about my passion, church history!

This may not come as a surprise to you, but Christianity is a two thousand year-old religion. For much of my life in Protestantism this little fact was completely off my radar. Two thousand years is actually a really long time and considering that the period after the Reformation makes up only one-fourth of that actual timeline of the church, I believe it’s worth it for all Christians (Protestant, Catholic and Eastern Orthodox) to always try and learn more about those voices of faith who helped guide the church through it’s early struggles to the place it is today.

So I present to you 5 notable people from the 1st through 4th centuries who I consider to be essential.

(Read the whole thing at TheOrant)

2 thoughts on “5 Guys from Early Christian History You Should Get to Know

  1. Hi Zach! I loved this article! Excellent descriptions of these church fathers! I was wondering if you’d heard of a website titled “Called to Communion”? (http://www.calledtocommunion.com). It’s for Protestant-Catholic dialogue, created by former Reformed seminarians, pastors and laypersons. I read your blog post about potentially converting to Orthodoxy, and was wondering if you had checked out that site. There have been some really good discussions about Orthodoxy and Catholicism on there, just wanted to point you there if you’re interested. (I spent about 3 years researching and just left evangelical Protestantism after growing up Presbyterian to enter full communion with the Catholic Church). Also, one of the guest writers on the site wrote something which I excerpted on my blog, if you’re interested. http://seekingtofindhim.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/comparing-authority-paradigms/. God Bless!

    • Thanks for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I have heard of the the “Call to Communion” site, just haven’t had the chance to visit them yet. I am all for Catholic-Orthodox dialogue. Just to be a little clearer, I’m not Orthodox due to certain circumstances, but I am very much an observer and seeker within the Church. It’s always great to hear stories of both Catholic and Orthodox converts though! It is very encouraging.

Leave a Reply

