Five Things Friday – January 31st, 2014

Hello everyone! ‘Tis Friday again and that means it’s time to share a few of my favorite things from this week. I don’t have much time to write lately, but hopefully these things will distract you, dear reader, enough to not notice I have writer’s block.

1. This clip from the new “Left Behind” reboot movie, starring Nicholas Cage

I’m not a fan of blatantly Christian films. This is known. But I am a sort of fan of Nicholas Cage, especially considering the colorful career he’s had. This is the first clip from the reboot…and it looks like two movies have been interspliced together. One is a cheesy Christian movie, filled with sub-par dialogue. The other is a Nicholas Cage film.

2. How this simple question turned me Catholic

http://wp.patheos.com.s3.amazonaws.com/blogs/billykangas/files/2014/01/jesus_die.jpg

My friend Billy tells of his journey from Protestantism to Catholicism. Billy’s journey is a lot like mine, although I’m following  a slightly different path. Give it a read!

3. 6-Day Visit to Rural African Village Completely Changes Woman’s Facebook Profile Picture

“As soon as I walked into that dusty, remote town and the smiling children started coming up to me, I just knew my Facebook profile photo would change forever,” said Fisher, noting that she realized early in her nearly weeklong visit just how narrow and unworldly her previous Facebook profile photos had been. “I don’t think my profile photo will ever be the same, not after the experience of taking such incredible pictures with my arms around those small African children’s shoulders. Honestly, I can’t even imagine going back to my old Facebook photo of my roommate and I at an outdoor concert.”

4. Taylor Swift Attacked at Grammys

Wait for it…wait for it…

5. The Verse from Wisdom of Solomon, Chapter 1

12 Do not be zealous for death by the deceit of your life, Nor bring destruction upon yourself by the works of your hands. 13 For God did not make death, neither does He have pleasure over the destruction of the living.” (OSB)

Something to meditate on for your weekend.

Leave a Reply

